Weekly Photo Challenge: Achievement

Following a recent amount of blessed achievements that allowed me travel and exhibiting my work has really been an achievement in itself but amongst the journey I found little achievements that provided secret smiles and happiness of a different kind. One of these was when I was taken to a quaint little bird sanctuary.

Walking briskly through the reed path to a little hidden wooden room with little wooden flap windows, I found a little piece of heaven. I was allowed into a special place with a voyeuristic view on beautiful wild birds.

Bernice Nelson© 2014

Finding these gems are sure fire amazing! We had heard the bustling of little voices and lo and behold they were right below us, outside. Gently opening the wooden window view portal we could hear the excitement of the little blue baby birds below, which happened to be singing excitedly at the site of their Mother flying in each time to feed them! My heart jumped with joy! So close to such beauty! Now, by no means am I nature photographer of any sort but if an opportunity presents itself, by gawsh, I’ll take it!

So I leaned the camera ever so nervously outside facing down the wooden wall with only the knowledge of random test shots to assess my baby birds positioning. After a few failed attempts, I waited patiently for the next burst of excitement from them to let me know when Mom would swoop in, and within seconds..It happened! I got the shot! I was so elated with being that close in my rigid stance to capture something so precious and be able to share the beauty that it all encapsulated. After that I enjoyed the rest of the scenic offerings with peace of mind that my viewfinder captured a moment that meant a lot for me. Little moments of achievement.

I have yet to find out the species but they sure are beautiful!

Hope you like it as much! I think I will print these for the walls too! …Happiness!

 

If you would like to take part in the Weekly Challenge click here! 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

